h1

Q & A w/ @BenKepes – Trailblazer with his head in the #cloud cutting through the hype

July 5, 2012

By @Rose_at_O

The Countdown team has caught up with leading cloud blogger, analyst and native kiwi Ben Kepes. http://www.diversity.net.nz

Q.  Tell us a bit about yourself: 

I’m a cloud computing blogger and analyst – excited about what cloud can mean in terms of agility and innovation. I live in rural New Zealand on a small farm but work predominantly in the US – this dual focus is the cause of many strange tweets about sheep, but it also gives me a unique perspective on the ever-changing technology world.

Q. Tell us a little bit about your blog and its interest in the Cloud. 

I own a dozen or so small businesses and have always had to wrangle technology on a day to day basis. I’m not a technologist but a technology user and the focus of my blog is to put things in ways that real users can understand, and advocate for tools that really meet their needs

Q. What’s hot in the Cloud this year? 

What isn’t? Big data, cloud management, Platform as a Service, small business applications, integration tools – to name but a few areas

Q. How many events do you attend each year? 

Well over a dozen – I travel from NZ to the US at least once a month

Q. Which one are you most looking forward to? 

Defrag is the answer I always give – it’s an amazing melting pot of thought leaders, creative types and just plain good folks

Q. What types of stories or companies are likely to attract your attention this year? 

Anyone doing the stuff I mentioned above

Q. How many interviews do you do per week? 

Approximately 10

Q. What’s the best way to pitch a story to you? Email? Phone? Twitter? By mail?

Generally email – but make it in context for what I do and who I am

Q. Who is worth listening to (about Cloud)? 

The Clouderati – for sure

Q. What’s your favourite blog?

Hmmm – apart from my own of course… I follow a number but don’t really have any faves. Simon Wardley’s (@swardley) is always fun with his blend of dry humour and intellect (www. http://blog.gardeviance.org/).

Q. What is your favourite piece of technology?

Hmmm – tricky question. I’m pretty keen on my smart phone but since technology is temporal I don’t have a favourite

Q. What do you think is the most important development in cloud to date? 

I think it’s the business model of selling services as a monthly deal – that unlocks a whole bunch of other stuff

Q. What is the best piece of advice for companies pitching stories?

Understand me!

Q. What was the best press trip you’ve ever been on? Worst? Why?

NetSuite and Salesforce always do an awesome job of looking after analysts and press.

Q. What’s your favourite restaurant?

Peasant in New York is amazing… As is the Norwester in Amberley, New Zealand (my local!)

Q. Are you a social media lover? Which ones are you on? FB? LinkedIn? Twitter?

All of the above – but for me it’s simply about talking to my colleagues and having a meaningful relationship with people on the other side of the world

Q. Tell us something no one knows about you. Do you have any unusual or unexpected hobbies/interests? Do you have a claim to fame?

PB of 1:27 for a half marathon, not bad for this old codger! I’m a Scout leader and spend as much time as I can in the wilderness with my two sons.

Q. Ben, you have recently been named as a judge in the Tech Trailblazers awards.

What will you be looking for in entrants to the Cloud Trailblazers category?

Understanding where the real opportunities lie and not buying into the hype cycle

 

Q. What types of companies/entries are likely to catch your eye?

Any that fall into my “hot categories” above

Q. Any advice for entrants?

Just be natural, don’t overthink it!

Thanks Ben, sounds like the coming months are going to be a time to watch your blog with interest.

Copyright ©Launchpad Europe 2012. All rights reserved. You may copy and distribute this material as long as  you credit the author where possible; the copies are distributed only for non-commercial purposes and at no charge; and you include this copyright notice and link to Countdown2CloudExpo.com, the original source of the work.

If you have any questions, please contact Launchpad Europe, info@launchpad-europe.com.

4 comments

  1. […] Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited […]


  2. […] Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited […]


  3. […] Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited […]


  4. […] Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited […]



Leave a Reply

