h1

Interview with Steve Chambers (@stevie_chambers), Wikibon’s first analyst outside of the US

April 28, 2015

By Rosalind Carr (@Rosalind_at_O) and Rose Ross (@Rose_at_O)

Stevie Chambers

The Countdown Team catch-up with Wikibon‘s newly appointed Senior Analyst Steve Chambers, who is flying the flag for the Wikibon community in the UK. We chat hot topics in cloud for 2015, the best way to pitch him and his favourite industry events of the year…

Leeds_United_-_Logo.svgTell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a living paradox: I love my home town, but I also love global reach.  I love football, but I’m a Leeds United fan.  Most importantly the tech world I came from is being eaten alive, and I’m cheering on Pacman.

Tell us a little bit about your firm and its interest in the cloud. 

Wikibon meets my paradox criteria because it has history and future and I love it because it always aims to look at the crazy world of IT from the perspective of the bamboozled end user.  There’s so much change, variation and hype that it’s a nightmare for enterprise IT to make sense of it all: all those folks want is to make the best informed decision, and I think the channels of Wikibon are one way to help that.

What’s hot in the cloud this year? 

Containers.  They are going to disrupt developers, ISVs, infrastructure – an entire ecosystem.  It was hot to talk about in 2014, it’s hot to start embracing now in 2015.  The next five years are going to see an interesting disruption because of the emergence of containers.  It’s like one could imagine Google did this on purpose just to annoy VMware…. 🙂

How many events do you attend each year? 

Local events I can’t get enough of, especially non-tech events like the recent Santander SME event.  I do global events to help run theCUBE which in combination with Wikibon and SiliconAngle is like a force-multiplier and amplifier.

Which events are you most looking forward to? 

The smaller ones, like a Gluecon, because it’s there that you find the seeds and themes that are going to disrupt the big boys and give rise to serious enterprise IT benefit (if you can see that far ahead).

What types of stories or companies are likely to attract your attention this year? 

Anything that can deliver all three of the triangle – quality, cost and speed.  I see hyperconvergence doing that, for example.

How many briefings do you do per week? 

About 5, above that it’s impossible to derive value.  The point of briefings is to find a sweetspot for all three parties – sell side, buy side and the conduit.  I’m the conduit so I need to understand 2x what the sell or buy side knows.

write email imageWhat’s the best way to pitch a company/idea to you? Email? Phone? Twitter? By mail?

Skype or Hangout to start with.  I want to hear the raw pitch.  Then I will dig deeper and find my own value points and then discrepancies in the pitch.  I will put my CTO hat on and ask questions from the perspective of the customer.

Who is worth listening to (about the cloud)? 

Wikibon.

What are your favourite blogs? 

Too obvious an ask!

What is your favourite piece of technology?

Skype / Hangout because I can see my children no matter where I am in the world.

What do you think is the most important development in cloud to date? 

Transparency in functions and cost.  IT has been a big blog of mud.  Cloud has changed that for the benefit of businesses.  Secondarily I love the innovation of AWS, they’re my heroes.

What is the best piece of advice for companies to brief you?

Avoid a mono-pitch about why you’re best and different.  Talk to me about you from the perspective of customers, from the channel, from your competitors angle.  From every angle except your own.  I will massively respect you for having thought that through.

What’s your favourite restaurant?

My own kitchen: I love learning and experimenting with my friends.  My brother is a restaurateur and he takes all the joy out of it.

Are you a social media lover? Which ones are you on? FB? LinkedIn? Twitter?

All three – FB for personal (where we tell lies to our friends) and twitter (where we tell the truth to strangers).  LinkedIn is great.

Copyright ©Launchpad Europe 2015. All rights reserved. You may copy and distribute this material as long as  you credit the author where possible; the copies are distributed only for non-commercial purposes and at no charge; and you include this copyright notice and link to Countdown2CloudExpo.com, the original source of the work.

If you have any questions, please contact Launchpad Europe, info@launchpad-europe.com.

Leave a Reply

